Kids in the Garden

Have you had a gardening day with your children yet?

Father’s Day Sunday 21st June 2020

I speak from personal experience when I tell you they’ll love it! My dad gave me a corner of the back garden to experiment in when I was about eight years of age, and 62 years later, I still enjoy a bit of gardening. If you haven’t yet given them, the opportunity – make plans to do so now.

It needn’t be anything too adventurous, to begin with, all you need is a small patch of earth, a packet of seeds or seedlings and away you go. Natural growing crops are the best way to start, for example;

  • Radish
  • Lettuce
  • Herbs
  • Spring onions
  • How about potatoes or
  • Even Beetroot

These are easy to grow and once planted they’ll soon be able to see the first shoots appear. Over the following weeks, as they grow, the kids will quickly learn that if they don’t water them and keep them free of weeds, their plants will wither and die. The up side of course, is, they get to eat them when they harvest their very own crops.

What better way to spend Father’s Day is there than to spend it with dad and/or mum in the garden. Go on, they won’t stay kids for long and they’ll thank you for it later.

Published by Baz Baron

Naturally I'm a lovely person to know, but as D'Arcy says 'My good opinion once lost is lost forever.'

I love comments :-)